Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Le monde de Francesca
19 novembre 2019

Outmatched, Kristen Callihan et Samantha Young

Outmatched

Présentation de l’éditeur

What happens when an ex-boxer finds chemistry with a geek girl? This is one knockout they aren’t prepared for.

Rhys Morgan is a name that used to mean something to people. I was a heavyweight champion boxer, celebrated for my sharp instincts in the ring. That was before. Now, I’ve got a gangster on my back, my late father’s gym to save from ruin, and a brother who refuses to find a decent job.

When I discover the little brat is interviewing to be the boy toy of some spoiled rich girl, I take his place. Only the woman I’m about to tell off is a cute geek and can more than hold her own with me.

Parker Brown has problems too. She’s landed her dream job in renewable energy, but it comes with an old-fashioned boss who wants to see her settling down before he offers her a promotion. Even though we can hardly stand each other, posing as Parker’s boyfriend is a win-win deal. She gets to keep her job, and I’ll charm her boss into sponsoring my gym.

The trouble is this pixie-sized scientist is also gorgeous. And funny. And not even remotely impressed by me. She’s a sucker-punch to the heart. I can’t keep my hands—or my mind—off her. But a girl like Parker isn’t meant for a guy like me.

They say opposites attract. Parker and I are about to combust on impact. 

Mon avis

Ce stand alone est écrit à 4 mains, je ne connaissais pas Kristin Callihan, mais je suis fan de Samantha Young, donc j’ai bien évidemment voulu lu cette parution. L’histoire ne met pas l’Ecosse ou ses habitants en avant pour une fois, mais on reconnait aisément le style de l’auteure dans cette histoire et le traitement des personnages.

Parker a un objectif en tête et fera tout pour y parvenir. Cette femme brillante et protectrice de l’environnement doute toutefois trop d’elle-même et j’avais envie de la secouer pour qu’elle tienne tête plus souvent lors de situations profondément révoltantes. Rhys est son opposé, mais il est loyal et très touchant dans sa manière de vouloir protéger les siens à tout prix. Il a tendance à vouloir porter son immense fardeau tout seul, et doit apprendre à communiquer et à accepter l’aide qu’on lui propose.

Les deux héros se rencontrent de manière insolite et vont être comme chat et chien à se lancer des piques amusantes. Le ton du livre est donc très drôle et possède également une part d’émotion avec l’histoire touchante de Rhys. J’ai passé un très bon moment de lecture.

Le roman sort aujourd'hui, merci Samantha!

Outmatched

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Le monde de Francesca
Publicité
Le monde de Francesca
Newsletter
Derniers commentaires
Mes réseaux sociaux
Mes avis sur Instagram
Archives
Publicité